My life in blog form



I’ve already gone and done it.

I’ve neglected my blog already.  So I guess I’ll post a good update. 

First off, I’ve been keeping two blogs.  This is just a fun opportunity to share my opinions, ideas, and rants with everyone.  The other is a sort of diary of my housebuilding process.  You can check it out by going to www.saccoleone.wordpress.com.

That being said, life this week has consisted of a few things.  One of them being home building things, which you can read about on my other blog, and school prep stuff.

My husband and I went into school on Sunday.  I like going on Sundays because NO ONE is there.  This means I can avoid “chatting” with other people in the building.  I don’t really have a “space” for all of my school stuff at home, so when I stay at school, I stay at school to get work done.  Nothing irks me more than being interrupted in the middle of designing an essay question or grading an exam.  I cannot multi-task when someone is trying to talk to me, and I try to send the signals too.  People love to interrupt me when I’m:

-sitting at my desk

– pen in hand, paper in front of me

-typing on the computer

– reading from a textbook

-writing something.

 

I mean, isn’t it obvious when you walk by my classroom that I’m in the process of THINKING?  Here’s what I think:  these people are avoiding work.  There.  I said it.  I have two Superintendent Conference days this week, and I’m willing to bet that while I’m trying to decorate my classroom or write out my objectives, someone will be wandering the halls looking for someone to waste their time with. 

I’ll shut my door tomorrow.  I will.  You don’t even have to dare me.  I’ll turn my iPod on to something that will turn most people away ( Maybe some Dropkick Murphy’s, Flogging Molly, or even Brand New).  If people haven’t heard of them they’re more likely to avoid listening to them.  I’ll shut my door.  Heck, I’ll even work with the lights off, so if people are walking by, they will think no one is in there at first glance.

I’ll let you know how it goes on Thursday.

Anyways, my husband and I went in to get some “work” done in my classroom.  Every spring they make the teachers draw a map of where they would like all of their stuff to be.  Then, every fall, we come back to classrooms filled with desks, computers, even bookshelves just thrown in in no particular order.  Heck, on that Sunday, I walked in to find another teacher’s entire computer desk (printer, DVD player, and scanner included) sitting in my classroom.  Not sure what that’s all about. 

So after two hours of readjusting and moving things around, the only thing I have left to do is decorate a few bulletin boards.  I’ll take any suggestions.  Right now, I have one designated for research papers.  But I’d like to do a nice design on the other one.  We start with Julius Caesar.  I was thinking maybe a nice diagram of the Globe Theatre?

Leave a Reply

